Door County's ten unique and
Door County Lighthouses Brochure PDF (672KB)
Baileys Harbor Range Lights - Built in 1869, automated in
1972. Between 1869 and 1969, these lights were used to gain safe entry
into Baileys Harbor.
Cana Island -
Island Lighthouse, built in 1869 and automated in 1944, is an active
navigational aid. Thanks to painters and photographers, it also is Door
County's most recognizable lighthouse and one of the peninsula's most
Sturgeon Bay Canal Lighthouse - Built in 1899, automated in
1972. The bustling Coast Guard-operated station is located at the mouth
of the Sturgeon Bay ship canal.
Chambers Island - The island's lighthouse was built in
1858, automated in 1961. The lighthouse is open for self guided tours on
weekends from Memorial Day to Labor Day when a caretaker is in
Eagle Bluff Lighthouse - Peninsula State Park, Fish Creek.
Built in 1868, automated in 1926. The Door County Historical Society has
restored this structure and turned it into a living museum.
Old Baileys Harbor (Bird Cage) Lighthouse - Built in 1852
and closed in 1869 after the construction of the Baileys Harbor Range
Pilot Island Lighthouse - Built in 1858, automated in 1962.
A narrated boat tour passes the lighthouse as part of the Door County
Maritime Museum Lighthouse Walk, held the third weekend of May.
Plum Island Lighthouse - Built in 1895, automated in 1969.
A common sight for those taking the Washington Island Ferry.
Pottawatomie Lighthouse - Rock Island. Built in 1836,
automated in 1956. The grandfather of Door County lighthouses, it sits
on what now is a state park. Totally restored and open to the public.
Sherwood Point Lighthouse - Sturgeon Bay. Built in 1883,
automated in 1983, Sherwood Lighthouse was the last manned lighthouse on
the Great Lakes.
For more lighthouse info visit the
Maritime Museum & Lighthouse Preservation Society.